Home Calendar Hot Titles News & Weather Research Databases
Main Branch
200 South Main
Rock Port, MO 64482
Tel: 660-744-5404
Fax: 660-744-2861
Monday9:00am - 5:00pm
Tuesday, Thursday9:00am - 8:00pm
Wednesday9:00am - 5:00pm
Friday9:00am - 5:00pm
Saturday9:00am - 12:00pm
SundayClosed
Tarkio Branch
4051/2 S. 11th St
Tarkio, MO 64491
Tel: 660-736-5832
Monday, Friday9:00am - 5:00pm
(Closed 12 - 1)
Tuesday12:00pm - 5:00pm
WednesdayClosed
Thursday12:00pm - 8:00pm
(Closed 5 - 6)
SaturdayClosed
SundayClosed
Fairfax Branch
118 Main St
Fairfax, MO 64446
Tel: 660-686-2204
Monday9:00 -11:30am 12:00 - 5:00pm
TuesdayClosed
Wednesday12:00pm - 5:00pm
Thursday12:00pm - 7:00pm
Friday12:00pm - 5:00pm
SaturdayClosed
SundayClosed
Available at your local library - ANCESTRY.COM for genealogy research - in memory of our good friend and local historian Harry Broermann

test
Newbery Medal Winners
Click to search this book in our catalog   Shiloh
by Phyllis Reynolds Taylor

Publishers Weekly : In the tradition of Sounder and Where the Red Fern Grows comes this boy-and-his-dog story set in rural West Virginia. When he finds a mistreated beagle pup, 11-year-old Marty knows that the animal should be returned to its rightful owner. But he also realizes that the dog will only be further abused. So he doesn't tell his parents about his discovery, sneaks food for the dog and gets himself into a moral dilemma in trying to do the right thing. Without breaking new ground, Marty's tale is well told, with a strong emphasis on family and religious values. This heartwarming novel should win new fans for the popular Naylor. Ages 8-12.

Copyright 1991 Cahners Business Information, Inc. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions Inc. Terms

School Library Journal : Gr 4-6-- Marty Preston, 11, is a country boy who learns that things are often not what they seem, and that adults are not always ``fair'' in their dealings with other people. Marty finds a stray dog that seems to be abused and is determined to keep it at all costs. Because his family is very poor, without money to feed another mouth, his parents don't want any pets. Subsequently, there is a lot of conflict over the animal within the family and between Marty and Judd Travers, the dog's owner. Honesty and personal relations are both mixed into the story. Naylor has again written a warm, appealing book. However, readers may have difficulty understanding some of the first-person narration as it is written in rural West Virginian dialect. Marty's father is a postman--usually one of the better paying positions in rural areas--yet the family is extremely poor. There seems to be an inconsistency here. This title is not up to Naylor's usual high quality. --Kenneth E. Kowen, Atascocita Middle School Library, Humble, TX

Copyright 1991 Cahners Business Information, Inc. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions Inc. Terms

...More


Caldecott Medal Winners
Click to search this book in our catalog   Mirette on the High Wire
by Emily McCully

Publishers Weekly : In this picture book set in 19th-century Paris, a child helps a daredevil who has lost his edge to regain his confidence. Many traveling performers stay at Madame Gateaux's boarding house, but Mme.'s daughter Mirette is particularly taken with one guest--the quiet gentleman who can walk along the clothesline without falling off. Mirette implores the boarder to teach her his craft, not knowing that her instructor is the ``Great Bellini'' of high wire fame. After much practice the girl joins Bellini on the wire as he conquers his fear and demonstrates to all of Paris that he is still the best. McCully's story has an exciting premise and starting point, but unfortunately ends up as a missed opportunity. Bellini's anxiety may be a bit sophisticated for the intended audience and, surprisingly, the scenes featuring Mirette and Bellini on the high wire lack drama and intensity. McCully's rich palette and skillful renderings of shadow and light sources make this an inviting postcard from the Old World. Ages 4-8.

Copyright 1992 Cahners Business Information, Inc. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions Inc. Terms

School Library Journal : K-Gr 4-- Mirette's mother keeps a boardinghouse that attracts traveling performers . The girl is intrigued by one silent visitor, Bellini, who has come for a rest. She finds him next morning walking a high wire strung across the backyard. Immediately, she is drawn to it, practicing on it herself until she finds her balance and can walk its distance. But she finds the man unusually secretive about his identity; he was a famous high-wire artist, but has lost his courage. He is lured by an agent to make a comeback, but freezes on the wire. Seeing Mirette at the end of it restores his nerve; after the performance the two set off on a new career together. As improbable as the story is, its theatrical setting at some historical distance, replete with European architecture and exotic settings and people, helps lend credibility to this circus tale. Mirette, through determination and perhaps talent, trains herself, overcoming countless falls on cobblestone, vaunting pride that goes before a fall, and lack of encouragement from Bellini. The impressionistic paintings, full of mottled, rough edges and bright colors, capture both the detail and the general milieu of Paris in the last century. The colors are reminiscent of Toulouse-Lautrec, the daubing technique of Seurat. A satisfying, high-spirited adventure. --Ruth K. MacDonald, Purdue Univ . Calumet, Hammond, IN

Copyright 1992 Cahners Business Information, Inc. Distributed by Syndetic Solutions Inc. Terms

...More